Jog waterfalls in Black and white

As wiki says:

Jog Falls (Kannada: ಜೋಗ ಜಲಪಾತ), created by the Sharavathi River falling from a height of 253 m (830 ft) is the highest plunge waterfall in India  Located in Shimoga District of Karnataka state, these segmented falls are a major tourist attraction. It is also called by alternative names of Gerusoppe falls, Gersoppa Falls and Jogada Gundi.

There are many waterfalls in Asia – and also in India – which drop from a higher altitude. But, unlike those falls, Jog Falls is untiered, i.e., it drops directly and does not stream on to rocks. Thus, it can be described as the highestuntiered waterfalls in India. The waterfall database gives it 83 scenic points while Angel falls is at 97.

I took some  wonderful photos during  August 2010 but couldn’t decide on  which processing ! But now  I decided to go for the black and white even though some of my friends don’t like it and here is why made them black and white.

When jog is in full flow then I might just forget taking photos! Photographically speaking  there will not be much to shoot when Jog is falling at its full strength. There is  so much of water is falling, that  you cannot shoot different composition ( for example  some of the crops I have done here  would be  be just plain white if the water is falling in its full strength). So the day when I visited it was just  a medium flow and was best for shooting in different composition. I could see the texture of water crystal clear. I could see wet rocks behind it. There are floating clouds, mist arising from water which I could see very clearly. I could see brave peoples going near the falls.

I could not gain access to different POV ( But one day I will be doing it , I promise) because of some construction work was going on and they didn’t allow me to go many places. I will return here this monsoon and coming back with some more pictures.

So here are the final pictures!

gear: Canon 1000d, 18-55 lens, 55-250 lens

Jog in full frontal view

3 responses to “Jog waterfalls in Black and white

  1. Hi Walter,
    I am Rashi Gandhi, a graphic designer based in Bombay. I have started an interesting global project – a free online mag to publish all the talents in the field of art. My first issue is about to come online in the month end of march.
    I was wondering if you’d like to contribute to this endeavor.
    There are 2 topics – India and Bombay.(Nothing specific that would bind your creativity!)

    Unfortunately, there is no monetary compensation. But there will be your byline on all your photos.

    Let me know if you are interested

Tell me what you think!

